The Medicine Wheel: Dreaming the clans

It’s been a while that I wanted to write about the Medicine Wheel. I have done a series of texts on my experiences and perspectives with the East, South, West and North anchors, a few years ago, so in the spirit of continuity, I will explore the clans! In the tradition I am learning, seven clans lay on the Medicine Wheel (Starting from the North-East):

  • The Father Clan (Angel)
  • The Mother Clan (Earth)
  • The Grand Mother Clan (Moon)
  • The Turtle Clan (Storyteller)
  • The Frog Clan (!! can’t remember)
  • The Thunder Being Clan
  • The Butterfly Clan

Clans speak of archetypes to which your soul resembles the most. Picture a Teepee, in which a fire is burning. Around the fire are seven figures, where do you stand?

bonfire

***

angelThe first is a tall androgynous creature with wings on his shoulder and a stoic face. He speak in a grave manner, poking at the fire with his stick. He seems to be talking directly at you, explaining, leading. He has been there before and knows what and how it should be done. He was with granted insights and given the terrible responsibilities of caring for the others, which is why you can call him Angel Clan.

fairiesRight next to him is a fairy like creature – in fact, you are not sure if they are more than one person there. Their hands are dirty or wet or dry or burnt from cradling the Earth and Water and Air and Fire alike. They are laughing or crying, you are not sure, but you know they are dancing in that glowing light in a shape of a mother with open arms. She has been blessed with a sensible soul and thin skin that let her hear the beat of the planet, which is why you call her Earth Clan.

oracleThe third figure bears a strange smile. Even though she keeps very still, every time you look to her, she has changed. It looks like she is conversing, sometimes with Spirit sometimes with herself. From her you hear faint laughter or words riddled with strangeness that echoes within one part of your soul. She is ever changing but always present, with one foot in the real and one in the mystery, which is why you call her the Moon Clan.

turtleislandNext to her is sitting a woman who vibrate very slowly. Her eyes are closed and she listen to the sounds of stories. Her skin is riddled with words, it looks like they are slowly flowing in her wrinkles like rivers in their bed. When she open her mouth she speaks like the ancestors, as if she observed them for a thousand years. She has received the gifts of observation, respect of traditions and a quick tongue, which is why you call her the Storyteller Clan.

frogTo her left is a strong and vibrant young man with a quick eye. His joyous demeanour hides the fact that every angles of the environment has been scrumptiously studied to give him an edge, an advantage over you. You see in his eye everything he had overcome to be sitting here and that even in his stillness he looks ready to jump out at any moment.

 

The-Gargoyle-in-the-Rain--102166Next to him is a tall and wide creature, his skin is dark, as if made of stone. He study the circle with a critical eye. His voice is deep like a distant rumbling and  a foggy mist creeps around the room. In the split second you gaze off him, he has already summon enough energy to burn you to a crisp. Then, you hear his laughter as clear as the gentle rain.

 

shm-5078a7300a677-mockwht_blkThe last creature to complete the circle hovers above ground and flickers on himself. He looks at the figures around the fire and mimics them. With every gaze he touches the deep thoughtfulness, the breath of exaltation, the mysterious, the anchored wisdom, the mindful walk and the rumbling propulsion… and when it is over his wings suddenly stop flapping. He shed away that part of him and see everyone – including himself – anew.

***

Being in one clan does not mean that you are not experiencing the full array of archetypes. It only means that one of them represents the “family of your soul”.  For instance, I believe that I am from the Grand Mother Clan, but it is only after 3, 5 years of intense pondering and soul searching that I came to this conclusion, lol! I thought that maybe I was a Butterfly or – god preserve- a Thunder being!

Truth is that I share much affinities with Thunder beings. At first I was appalled by them, but I understand it was my very own aptitude to snap under a second that I disliked about myself. I was judging the clan based on my own programming. I’ve made my peace with my tendency towards anger and now I can appreciate it as the wisdom of the Thunder being clan: PROPULSION. In general, being angry does not hurt or shame me anymore, it brings me closer to resolution. It is but one mystery of how my inner mechanisms work. I’m glad I have learned a lesson from the TBC, it helps me explore the many – many – fragments of my soul.

 

Interested in learning more about the Medicine Wheel?  Please visit http://www.idreamer.ca
8 thoughts on “The Medicine Wheel: Dreaming the clans

  1. My Brandon is a Frog. He’s always moving, always ready to bolt, and always seems to have a leg up on everyone, even though he came from a weird/bad situation. It’s a little funny to me how well that fits him, actually.
    I pictured myself standing where the Thunder Being would be standing, which doesn’t surprise me greatly, except that I try not to put myself in positions of power like that. I’d rather be standing behind him than as him, if that makes sense.

    • You don’t strike me as a thunder being to be honest. I don’t know you an awful lot, but I don’t see rage being your propulsion. Thunder being are those guys you see in manifestation, creating ruckus, screaming at injustices. Th boisterous… I see you as either as a Butterfly Clan which touches all the clans (even the TB :p) or even a Mother Clan (because of the closeness to the elements). But HEY, I could very well be wrong!

      • Rage is one of my strongest emotions, if not one of my primary motivators. I don’t show it off a lot, mostly because I don’t want to be that guy who is always ranting about something or other, and maybe where I saw myself standing was a nod to that being one of my more Shadow aspects. Either way, I am a berserker. There’s lightning in my blood and my pulse is made of thunder.

        That said, you might be right about Butterfly clan. I see butterflies and moths everywhere, and if I rule out stuff I’ve gotten from other people, I guess I can be really anything I want/need. While I do have a serious connection to the earth element, my others are rather weak, and I tend to see everything else through the lens of how it relates to earth. I get that part from my Grandmother.

      • cool! then you must be pretty well balanced! Thunder Being can strike you as being highly unstable, but i think it’s because it is not lived in mindful way. I myself have a lot of ties to the TB, because my rage can litteraly make the weather change LOL

      • I’m on a long journey of self-discovery and mindfulness, so I’m not surprised there. Also, I find it funny how thunder-like people attract tricksters. I wonder why that is?

Leave a Reply

